Call for Nominations: Math Education Awards

Each year the OCTM Executive Board gives two awards that recognize and honor teachers and leaders. The recipients exemplify the spirit and dedication of mathematics teaching in Oregon. A third award may be given when appropriate.

The Mildred Bennett Elementary Math Education Award is given to an elementary or middle school teacher based on the following criteria: A spirit of joy and work ethic which promote quality mathematics education for all children	McEnerny-Ogle, Tom Swanson, Tom Stone, Jim Specht, Gwen and Ron Waite, Brent Freeman, Ralph Schubothe, Sue Ann McGraw, Trudy Mitchell, Linda Samek, Mike Gould, Fred Board, Karen Higgins, Winnie Miller, Lynn Bonser, Marie Cramer and Don Crossfield.
 □ An innovative approach in taking ideas and adapting them □ Exemplary work in his or her own school □ An ongoing commitment of time and energy to improve teaching in his or her community □ Support and promotion of mathematics throughout the state. 	The Oregon Mathematics Education Hall of Fame members currently include Mildred Bennett, Bill Burger, Oscar Schaaf, Don Fineran, Gene Maier, Ron Morgali, Dwight Lippe, Linda Foreman, Ron Nicholson, Wally Rogelstad, Marj Enneking, Richard Brannan, Doug Cruikshank, Chuck Peterson, Judy Johnson, Ted Nelson, Michael Shaughnessy, Cathy Brown, Tom Dick,
Past recipients have been Mildred Bennett, Joanne Wilkie, Judy Johnson, Diane Price-Stone, Pam Alexander, Jackie Nissen, Phil Bartsch, Shirley Payne, Jerri Wickert, Kathryn Warrior, Jackie Cooke, Tari Querin, Jan Hill, Kayda Mitchell, Kathy Reed, Cheryl Klampe-Van Hess, Ann McMahon, Giny Christensen, Jill Board, Nancy Anderson, Cheri Clausen, Jan Gillespie, Molly Smith and Jane Osborne.	Jim Specht, Diane Price-Stone and Tom Stone, Tari Querin, Cathy Bernhard, Jackie Cooke, Sara Normington, Nancy Anderson and Brent Freeman. Nominations for this award should consider those who have: ☐ A long history of service and achievement to math education in Oregon ☐ A commitment to making a change in the quality of math education
The Oscar Schaaf Secondary Mathematics Education Award is given to a middle, high school or college teacher based on the following criteria:	 ☐ A history of time and involvement with OCTM ☐ Given of themselves through workshops, articles, presentations and personal contact.
 □ Enthusiasm as a person, teacher and leader that reflects the person for whom the award is named □ Demonstration of thinking by using a model that makes mathematics meaningful □ An organized focus for his or her teaching 	Nominations are now being requested for 2018. These awards will be presented at the Oregon Math Leaders Conference in August. If you would like to make a nomination for one of these awards, please use the form on this page and mail your nomination to:
 ☐ Great interest in problem solving ☐ Generous sharing of information, serving as a mentor, offering support and guidance long-term in- 	Sarah Savage 12942 SE Kathryn Ct, Happy Valley 97086
volvement with the mathematics community. Past recipients have been Scott McFadden, Jim Young, Wally Rogelstad, Richard Brannan, Chuck Peterson, Anne	Nominations must be postmarked by April 1, 2018. Feel free to email Sarah at octmpresident@gmail.com if you have any questions.
(Please check one.) The nominee is being recommende Mildred Bennett Elementary Math Education Award Oregon Mathematics	d for: Oscar Schaaf Secondary Math Education Award Education Hall of Fame
Nominee's name:Home address:	Telephone number: () ZIP:
School address:	
Your address:	
Why should the nominee receive special recognition?	ZIP: